Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

Boston, MA

4.6 · 317 reviews
4.6 · 317 reviews


3 Photos

  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 1
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 2
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 3

About Modern Pest Services

Location

Boston, MA

Services

Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control

Products

Sentricon
TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business

74

Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services is a third generation family-owned and operated pest control company. Established in 1945, it has been a leader in the industry from its beginning.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

317 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 73
Thorough · 46
Knowledgeable · 33
Friendly · 28
Excellent · 27
· Show All
4.6 star average rating (317 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
North Reading, MA
I had a very thorough inspection of my home by Shannon. She arrived on time, was attentive to detail and very professional. I will remain a Modern Pest client if they sustain this level of customer service.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Nov 26)
Hi Lynn! Thanks for letting us know that Shannon did such a good job. We appreciate the great review. Happy Thanksgiving!
Andover, MA
The transition from EHS to Modern Pest Services (MPS) was not an easy one! EHS always gave us a call to confirm the appointments and that worked well for us. MPS would sometimes send an email and their agent (mainly Daniel) would show up outside of the time frame, which was not working with us at all. One time he showed up at 7:30 am and we had no previous notice of his arrival. Another time he showed up at 8:00 am again without our prior knowledge. We were thinking to stop our working relationship with MPS and hire another company but we decided we give them another try. Ronnie came yesterday and he was on time and this time MPS gave us appropriate notice of his arrival and that worked great. Ronnie was very polite and respectful. He seemed familiar with MPS but not at all familiar with the way EHS has been running things. We are still hoping for MPS to manage their EHS customers better. We hope that day comes soon. I understand it will take some time. As paying customers, we were really hoping for a smoother transition. Mr. & Mrs. Brooks.
Cambridge, MA
Tech was great- thorough & explained everything.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Nov 26)
Hi Leslie! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review, and happy Thanksgiving!
Boston, MA
The technician doesn't do what has to be promised to the management.
Billerica, MA
Still getting wasps in the house. When I called , I was told to wait and they will stop. I didn't think to ask how long I should wait, so maybe its my fault. Hopefully by the time the snow flies my wife will be able to return to the living room.
Cambridge, MA
Disorganized. Bought a great company and ruined it. We intend to find another provider.
Westbrook, ME
We have been using Travis for about a year at all of our apartment complexes. Whenever we need service he is very prompt with answering us and usually finds a way to come take a look either the same day or the next day. Is is very clear with his communication on what we need to do to fix our issue and makes sure we are scheduled as soon as possible. A few weeks ago we had an issue that needed immediate attention and I am not sure how he did it, but he made it happen that day. Maine Properties finds him to be very professional and effective with all of our pests needs. We would not go to anyone else!
Boston, MA
Wilson was prompt,friendly,efficient and professional. He explained what he was doing and why as well as offered insight into further pest proofing the building. All and all a great first experience with Modern since their purchase of our old provider EHS.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Oct 28)
Hello! We're happy to hear that your transition to Modern has gone well, and that Wilson did a good job. Thanks for the great review!
Lancaster, MA
Kristina was great in booking the appointment for sane day! Great customer service. Joe came out to the house and did a thorough job.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 21)
Hi Janet! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Kristina and Joe. Thanks so much for the great review!
Waltham, MA
Exceptionally pleased with customer service response team, professional, friendly helpful and quick turnaround to customer needs.
Additionally, I'd like to applaud the efforts of my assigned Technician, Angel. Strong work ethic, attentive, timely in his arrival,professional and genuinely concerned about finding solutions to problematic situations with assortment of pests.
He will make the extra effort to explain and help you understand ... Most appreciative.
If there is an employee of the month recognition program at Modern Pest, I would highly register my vote and recommendation.
Exemplary, captures this gentleman's work, and you should be proud to have him as an asset to your company. Thank you. Karen McCree 10/17/2019.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 21)
Hi Karen! We're so happy to hear that you had such a great experience with Angel. We love hearing when our Service Professionals are going a good job in the field, and we truly appreciate the thorough review! Enjoy your week!
Boston, MA
Would like written report on findings/work done for each visit. Monthly service for checking outdoor traps seems overpriced.
Cambridge, MA
Great service.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 21)
Hi Jens! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your week!
Acton, MA
Prompt and responsive.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 10)
Hi Kristin! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Arlington, MA
Michael was great! Very knowledgeable and helpful.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 7)
Hi Lauren! We're glad to hear you had a good experience with Michael. Thanks for the great review!
Cambridge, MA
There were substantial delays, that seem to be a function of the computer system and perhaps the management.
Initial efforts to secure service were in July. Ehs changed to Modern Pest services but did not notify us of email changes. We tried to communicate with the sales man for months, to get questions answered. But no one advised sales to contact all prospective clients and see whether they wanted to proceed

On the date that service appointment was made, the gentleman was held up for hours because he could not get the materials. Consequently, he did not make the 8 am appointment. I called and was told he might come at 9. But I had to call again. He was still waiting for the materials needed to provide the service.

He did come at about 10:30. He was very professional and helpful. So were the other client facing people (those who answered the phones etc.) They were lovely and do credit to your firm. But the back office snafus, the inability to notify us there was a change in email contact info, and the inability for a professional to secure the materials needed to service a client for 2 and a half hours raise serious questions.

I hope Modern Pest Services resolves these problems. I will say it again: Your client facing staff are the highest caliber. But they are unable to provide the services because of problems within the system (as some would say "above their pay grade.")
Woburn, MA
Everything went fine thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Oct 1)
Hi Marcus! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your week!
Watertown, MA
I'm still waiting for your team to come Wednesday between 1 and 3 pm to fill in the holes around the house and put outside traps.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Sep 30)
Hi Shelia! Thanks for the review. We hope all goes well with your follow-up on Wednesday. Let us know if you need anything else!
Arlington, MA
Reliable service.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Sep 26)
Hello! We're glad to hear you're happy with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
Cambridge, MA
Gone downhill. No response to previous emails to the company asking how you were doing, even after we reported having issues and asking for help. Due to lack of response and inability to email invoices, coupled with less time spent at the property per Modern's orders our next correspondence will be a termination letter. Which is unfortunate because it could have been avoided if someone actually took the time to respond to us. - Regatta Riverview.
Burlington, MA
I didn't know companies merged, I got an e-mail after the fact. Things did work out and the person that come out was a good worker. I would recommend this company.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 16)
Hi Kathy! We're glad to hear that the merger has gone well for you. Thanks for the great review!
Grafton, MA
We are pleased with your work. We will use you again.
Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 16)
Hi Janet! We're happy to hear you've had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your week!
Medford, MA
Good morning All,

I am very happy the service you give us. I am also extremely happy that the Technician Daniel is very thorough in doing his job and he is very friendly with the folks here at Parkway Plaza West Condominiums. Thank you Daniel for doing a great Job at and around our building.

Regards

Frank Orben.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 12)
Hi Frank! Thanks for the great review and for letting us know that Daniel is doing a good job. We appreciate the feedback!
Somerville, MA
lack of follow up to service requests.
Boxford, MA
He was very polite and efficient!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 12)
Hi Alan and Lee! That's great that your Service Professional did a good job. We appreciate the great review!
Cambridge, MA
Yes, very happy with service provided at both Sidney-Pacific & The Warehouse at MIT. Wayne does an exceptional job at both buildings and provides educational tips on good pest relief habits for staff and residents throughout. He is always a quick responder with a result-oriented approach!

Thanks,
Brian Ward
House Operations Manager
Sidney-Pacific (NW86) & the Warehouse (NW30)
Unit-12 Weekend Manager
Division of Student Life I Housing & Residential Services

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
617-452-4751 (Office)
617-485-9943 (Cell)
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 12)
Hi Brian! We're glad to hear that Wayne has been doing a good job. Thanks so much for the great review!
Cambridge, MA
Hello Modern- Yes the Association is very happy with your pest service.
The Trustees recently decide to stop the treatment for the mice-for now. They will continue the rat treatment.
Please cancel the mice treatment and confirm to me.
Jay McGoldrick- Property Manager
jmcgoldrick@propertymanage.com.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 12)
Hi Jay! We're happy to hear you've been pleased with Modern. I have asked one of the Service Managers in your area to call you to discuss your service request. Thanks for the great review!
Dracut, MA
Mike was very pleasant, haven’t seen any bees since. Thank you and I’ll call if i need you again. Have a good day.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 9)
Hi Nick! We're happy to hear Mike did a good job addressing your stinging insect issue. Thanks for the great review!
Waltham, MA
I always thought I could get rid of Wasps in my backyard..Thought all I had to do was just spray a little store bought stuff and like magic they would be gone..Well that theory went out the window after I was attacked and stung really bad three times on my leg..This time I got smart!! I called this company Modern Pest Services and for a great affordable price I set up time for them to come to my house...A very cool and collected guy showed up (ON TIME) and the rest is history...Those wasps met their maker real quick...So glad I got smart..Just picked up the phone and now it's over...very well worth it for my wife and me..Ahhh!we can rest again...Thanks Modern...really!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 9)
Hi Tom! Thanks for the great review and for the laugh! We're happy to hear you can rest again after your wasp battle. They're certainly nothing to mess with! We're glad we could help, and we truly appreciate the amazing review! Enjoy your week!
Andover, MA
Colleen and Ed provide us with excellent service.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 9)
Hi Mark! We're happy to hear that Colleen and Ed are going a good job. Thanks for the great review!
Westford, MA
Jon McMilleon did a fantastic job for us with the Mosquito &Tick application as well has his battle with a very large, suspended wasp nest. He deserves a medal.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Sep 9)
Hi Ken! Jon definitely deserves a medal for tackling wasps! Scary stuff. Thanks for letting us know that he did a good job with the Mosquito, Flea, and Tick service as well. We appreciate the great review!
Concord, MA
Mailing it in...don't actually inspect or update records....looking to change.
Groton, MA
Thank you so much for all that Michael Collins & his crew did ridding us of the bed bugs that had been causing us so much strife. My apologies for not having prepared all the rooms, we did not realize we were going to get such a thorough job done & for such a reasonable price. I'm very impressed with the efficiency of your company beginning with my husband's call to you & the information I have been receiving on line. Can't praise you enough. We have not seen any traces of the bed bugs since. Again, thank you. Edna Deal.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Aug 20)
Hi Edna! We're so happy to hear that you had a good experience with Michael and with Modern. Hopefully the bedbugs are gone, but we're here if you need us! Thanks so much for the great review. Have a wonderful week!
Andover, MA
Came early to take care of bees. One of our workmen was allergic to bee sting and needed to keep working.
Great guy. Bees are still there and he asked me to call back if that happened. Will be calling today.
Definitely will use this company again!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Aug 19)
Hi Ann! I reviewed your account, and it looks like Nick Grein came out and removed the nest. Please let us know if you have any other issue. Thanks for the great review!
Plymouth, MA
The technician arrived early. He was friendly and very professional. I am happy with the service provided.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 22)
Hi Richard! We're glad to hear you had a positive experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
Grafton, MA
I feel like they didn’t what we agreed to.
Salisbury, MA
so far so good.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 15)
Thanks so much for the great review! Enjoy your week!
Warwick, RI
We were with Guaranty Pest Elimination for years and wondered how things would be after the acquisition. I am pleased to say that nothing changed. As always, the stations were checked thoroughly. Thank you, Modern Pest Services.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 11)
Hi Beth! We're very happy that your transition from Guaranty to Modern has gone smoothly. Thanks so much for being a part of Modern and for the great review!
Chelmsford, MA
Great job. We have seen no ants at all.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 11)
Hi John! We're happy to hear you haven't seen any ants. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
West Newton, MA
Totally committed to dealing with our pest problems and keeping our home pest free is how I can only describe our service professional, Jonathan, who takes such pride in his work. He makes working with Modern Pest Services a true pleasure. We highly recommend its Services.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 11)
Hello Ross! We're so happy to hear you've had a good experience with Jonathan. Thanks for the great review and for recommending Modern!
Lowell, MA
Job well done.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (Jul 11)
Hi Arshi! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!