Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

Boston, MA

4.6 · 411 reviews
4.6 · 411 reviews


3 Photos

  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 1
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 2
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Boston, MA - Gallery Photo 3

About Modern Pest Services

Location

Boston, MA

Services

Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control

Products

Sentricon
TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business

75

Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services is a third generation family-owned and operated pest control company. Established in 1945, it has been a leader in the industry from its beginning.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

411 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 84
Thorough · 52
Knowledgeable · 39
Excellent · 38
Friendly · 35
· Show All
4.6 star average rating (411 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
North Reading, MA
A very good company.
Stoneham, MA
We found mice dropping on our counter. We called Modern Pest. Ron inspected our house, and installed mice traps and several other things. He was excellent. When I came down the stairs he had left. He was excellent.
Business Owner's Reply · 6 days ago (Sep 17)
Hi John! We're happy to hear that Ron did a good job treating your mouse issue. Thanks for the great review!
Cambridge, MA
I think you guys are a great job. My rat problems are getting better.
Business Owner's Reply · 6 days ago (Sep 17)
Hi Diana! We're so happy to hear that we could help alleviate your rat issue. Thanks for the great review!
Woburn, MA
Great service all the time.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 10)
Hi Jason and Caitlyn! Thanks for letting us know you've been happy with Modern. We appreciate the great review!
Burlington, MA
Everyone from main office to service techs are excellent. Great to work with.
Business Owner's Reply · 20 days ago (Sep 4)
Hi Kevin! We're so happy to hear that you've had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the 5-star review, and have a great Labor Day weekend!
02347, MA
Had then since 2013 they use to be guarantee pest control then.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 17)
Hello! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy your week!
Saugus, MA
I have always been happy with your service. However, I was scheduled for an ant and mouse inspection, inside and outside, on Friday, July 31, 2020. As far as I can tell, no one came. The appointment was 3:00-5:00. I got home at 3:15. I was unavoidably late. However, there was no note or call left for us. The lady who usually comes is very nice and very dependable. Did something happen? Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 5)
Hi Marie and Bob! I checked your account and it appears they've been trying to contact you to schedule the interior portion of your service. You can reach the office at 1-800-323-7378. Your exterior service was performed in the morning. Colleen, your Service Professional, was unable to arrive at 3pm as requested. Your interior service will be done at no extra cost. Thanks!
BEVERLY, MA
Very Satisfied with the service provided.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Lynn! We're glad to hear you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
MALDEN, MA
Wilson, the Modern Pest analyst was very thorough, professional and friendly. And after his tutorials concerning the "baits" set in less than 24 hours we captured one!!! Thanks for assisting us.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Ann Marie! Thanks for letting us know that Wilson did a good job and that his bait method worked! We appreciate the great review!
NORTHBORO, MA
Technician was excellent.
... but we did have a major issue with charges/billing.
Our prior company (of ~15 years) was recently taken over by Modern Pest. This was their first visit and ended up costing us almost 60% more. This was partly due to an initial setup fee of $199 for rodent control despite the fact that all of the traps were already present and just required 5 minutes of time to re-bait.
I tried to discuss this with management, including the fact that I didn't feel this charge was adequately explained during my initial discussion with them. Their response was entirely unsatisfactory and surprisingly rude.
When combined with their inflated pricing scheme, Modern Pest is the poster boy for why bigger is usually NOT better for the customer.
We will finish out our contract and look for another company.
Maynard, MA
Very kind and friendly staff. Respectful and informative.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 21)
Hello Duncan and Kristin! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
FRAMINGHAM, MA
TECH WAS GREAT I'LL LET YOU KNOW IN THE NEXT FEW MONTHS TO SEE IF THE PRODUCT WORKED.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Kevin! We're glad you had a good experience with your service professional. Please let us know if you have any other issues. Thanks!
Holland, MA
Service Rep. came, but because weather was raining so much he couldn't perform all of service regarding taking care of bees and hornets in overhangs on the house. I had to call today to request a repeat appt. however, the party I spoke with was not very knowledgeable and I was on hold for 28 minutes. For $380. I should at least be able to get someone who knows what is going on, give me a new appt. after consulting my acct. and the service reps schedule, give me a time frame when he will come and who will come. Sorry, my original rep that set up the original appt. was right on the money, but Jessica could use some training.
I've not had any problems until now. May have to research someone more knowledgeable and in my area. Very disappointed. Feel bad because we love our service rep. who always does a great job.
SOMERVILLE, MA
I am very disappointed with modern part right now. When I call I am on hold for 30 mins, if anybody picks up at all. I called to reschedule this appointment and was told I would get a call back and instead the technician was sent when I was not available. I will cancel my contract if things don’t change.
ROXBURY CROSSING, MA
Excellent service. Our technician Rolland is very thorough, nice and professional.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 12)
Hello! We're glad to hear that Rolland is doing a good job. Thanks for the great review!
BEVERLY, MA
They are very kind and respond very fast to our needs! Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 12)
Hi Antonio! We're glad to hear you've been satisfied with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
PEABODY, MA
your technician Corey was very courteous, efficient and a pleasure to have over. In the future if needed we would like to have Corey be the tech that comes Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 11)
Hi Edward! We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience with Corey. Thanks for the 5-star review!
STONEHAM, MA
On time, responsive, polite, very thorough.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 11)
Hi Andrew! Thanks so much for the great feedback. We appreciate the 5-star review!
Dudley, MA
Change the appointment without notice. Was told a manager would call me Never did. We are in the process of looking for a new exterminator.
WESTFORD, MA
Ron as always did a great job!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 11)
Hi Ken! Thanks for letting us know that Ron is doing a great job. We appreciate the 5-star review!
CHELMSFORD, MA
they were awesome! we had a carpenter ant problem and they came 2 days later and gave the initial treatment and the ants never come back!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 9)
Hi Brian! We're glad to hear the carpenter ant issue was resolved quickly. Thanks so much for the great review!
Lexington, MA
We are on a quarterly maintenance plan. Now that it's no longer safe to have a technician come in the house, we don't get the rodent control we used to. I've taken about 5 dead mice out of traps this year. I'd like to know what it would cost to have just outside pest control, on an as-needed basis. Could you let me know what the single insect-spraying (outside) fee is?
Thank you,
Marianne Kruse
312 Waltham Street
Lexington MA 02421.
LEXINGTON, MA
All good. Professional service. Tyler was awesome.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 9)
Hi Alexandra and Michael! We're happy to hear that Tyler did a good job. Thanks for the great review!
TEWKSBURY, MA
Technician came to the door to identify himself and explain what would be done.
When finished he explained what he found and how treated.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 5)
Hi Steve! We're happy to hear that your Service Professional did a thorough job. Thanks for the great review!
EAST BOSTON, MA
Great Company!!!!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 5)
Thanks so much for the great review! Enjoy your weekend!
NORTH ANDOVER, MA
We have mice here now.
PEABODY, MA
Nick was nice and informative and thorough.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 1)
Hi Debra! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Nick. Thanks for the great review!
Boylston, MA
I have been very happy with the service. They come out, do their job and leave.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 1)
Hi Betty! We're glad you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
BELCHERTOWN, MA
Angel went above and beyond to explain to me how to manage unwanted pests in our home. He was friendly kind and thorough. Highly recommend this service!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 22)
Hi Susan! We're so glad you had a good experience with Angel. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
AYER, MA
Reliable and excellent customer service!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Monica! We're glad you've had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
NEWBURY, MA
The tech was great.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Tania! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
NORTH ANDOVER, MA
Excellent service!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Deanne! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
DUDLEY, MA
The service was fine, but I was not told it would be two hours later than scheduled until I called.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Lori! I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with appointment time. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Thanks for the great service review though!
CHELMSFORD, MA
Great service.
Technician was excellent - listened to our needs and concerns.
Very effective. The ants were gone immediately.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 14)
Hi Brad! We're happy to hear that you've had a god experience with Modern and your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
WATERTOWN, MA
We are happy that Dan visited us yesterday. We are quite satisfied with the service he provided. Nice job. If he needs to come back for a follow up ant visit, we will request him. Our next scheduled visit in August we will request him then as well.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 14)
Hi Mike! We're happy to hear that Dan is doing a good job. Thanks so much for the great review!
Fiskdale, MA
We are happy with the outside exterminating that was done recently. While we understand why you couldn't come into the house due to pandemic, it means that only half the house was exterminated. But, the amount we paid for your service was not discounted 50%.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 13)
Hi Richard! I have requested that a Service Manager from your branch reach out to discuss your service. Thanks!
HOLDEN, MA
John is always polite and explains things if we have any questions.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 12)
Hi Jay! We're happy to hear that you've had a good experience with John. We appreciate the great review!
ARLINGTON, MA
Prompt and politr.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 12)
Hi Kathleen! We're glad you've had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
WOBURN, MA
Service provider not very talkative,I had to ask if he saw any signs of rodents. He never checked upstairs so why am I paying for the size of my house????He did ask where I saw the most ants and after applying something in that area said I may see an increase in seeing ants then it will stop.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 12)
Hi Nancy! I have asked that a Service Manager from the Boston branch to reach out to you regarding your concerns. Thanks for letting us know!
WATERTOWN, MA
Angel was very good, thorough and responsive as well as taking safety precautions. I appreciate it.
Business Owner's Reply · 5 months ago (May 8)
Hi Linda and Stuart! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Angel. Thanks so much for the great review!