Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

Westbrook, ME

4.6 · 940 reviews
4.6 · 940 reviews


3 Photos

  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Westbrook, ME - Gallery Photo 1
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Westbrook, ME - Gallery Photo 2
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Westbrook, ME - Gallery Photo 3

About Modern Pest Services

Location

Westbrook, ME

Services

Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control

Products

Sentricon
TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business

75

Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services was established in 1945 as a family-owned and operated pest control company. In 2017, Modern Pest Services partnered with Anticimex, a global preventive Pest Control company. Modern"s headquarters are located in Brunswick, Maine. There are service centers in Bangor, Augusta, and Westbrook, ME; Manchester, NH; Boston, MA; and New Haven, CT. Modern employs over 200 talented service, sales, technical, administrative and management professionals. We live and work in the neighborhoods we service and proudly serve over 30,000 residential, commercial, and wildlife clients in Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

940 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 186
Knowledgeable · 116
Thorough · 112
Friendly · 106
Helpful · 70
· Show All
4.6 star average rating (940 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
Wells, ME
Modern Pest Control was very professional. Eric came for an assessment and explained his course of action.
Tom came answered any concerns and followed through with the course chosen.
Yarmouth, ME
Modern Pest Service was very helpful. I was very pleased with Shawn. Though the bat was not found, he was able to reassure me why the bat must have flown out the window and had probably not remained long. Shawn also checked the possible access points. He clearly answered all my questions and I felt comfortable the way he explained how he evaluated my bat issue. I shall definitely recommend your company to friends.
North Yarmouth, ME
Everything was professionally done and all the people who came to my home were very nice.
Freeport, ME
Modern Pest is great! The folks are always polite and helpful and get the job done!
Business Owner's Reply · 7 days ago (Sep 17)
Hi Dan! Thanks so much for the amazing review! We're pleased that you've been satisfied with Modern and we appreciate the feedback! Enjoy your weekend!
Yarmouth, ME
Bruce is always very helpful and goes above and beyond to accommodate my requests. I appreciate him.
Business Owner's Reply · 7 days ago (Sep 17)
Hi Jane! Thanks for letting us know that Bruce is doing a good job. He is certainly an expert about pest control! We appreciate the great feedback and review!
Portland, ME
Excellent service; customer focused. No more ants!
Business Owner's Reply · 7 days ago (Sep 17)
Hi Robert! We're glad we could help with your ant issue. We appreciate the great review as well!
Saco, ME
We were very pleased with the prompt service of their technician. He was on time and after the inspection, explained what we had and what was needed to correct it.
Business Owner's Reply · 9 days ago (Sep 15)
Hi Gloria! We're very happy to hear that you had a good experience with your Service Pro and with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
New Gloucester, ME
The service person was great , he was very helpful and knowledgeable. he took his time to do the work.
the reason I give it didn’t give you five is because you didn’t offer me an option for shorter than 12 months. I had to subscribe for 12 months service. I did not have an option to get just one service call or say 3 months service. thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 9 days ago (Sep 15)
Hi Ali! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with your Service Professional. You can reach us at 1-800-323-7378 if you'd like to discuss future service options. Thanks for the great review!
South Portland, ME
The expert service was good.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi Abdi! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Portland, ME
Good communication.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi William! We're happy you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
Kennebunk, ME
The second tech that came out was very knowledge and uncovered the mice issue, points of entry, nesting area, etcZ he recommended we take down insulation in basement and we have done that. We will replace with foam. He took the time to figure it out and was very thorough. I use MP for three properties. They are good.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi Carol! We're happy to hear that your service went so well and fixed the issue. Thanks for the great review!
Greenwood, ME
Great job!
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi Dave! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Greenwood, ME
Excellent experience. Inspector was professional and answered all my questions respectfully and completely.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi Erick! We're very happy to hear that you had a good experience with Modern and our team. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
York, ME
Removal of wasp nest in an attic area.
Agent was on time, analyzed the situation and treated the nest. After about an hour the wasp traffic diminished markedly. By the next day there was no wasp activity.
Although he did not remove the nest, her did remove the wasp threat. So the result was positive.
Business Owner's Reply · 13 days ago (Sep 11)
Hi Dan! Often times the Service Professional will leave a nest behind after it has been treated so that another nest isn't built in the same location. The current nest is no longer a threat. Let us know if you have any other questions! Thanks!
South Portland, ME
My father was impressed with the technician and service provided.
Business Owner's Reply · 23 days ago (Aug 31)
Hi John! We're glad that your father had a good experience with his Service Professional and with Modern in general. Thanks for the great review!
Scarborough, ME
Re Order 4421855, I never heard if the wildlife specialist captured the animal living under my back deck. Traps were removed two weeks ago. I have no idea if the animal is still there. Could you follow up for me. Hard to rate service with this issue.
Freeport, ME
the sevice was great once it go here. I did not know that it was not going to be Monday the 17th between 9-10 as I did not get the message. I tried for some time to make a call and finally after a half hour of waiting was able to reach someone who said it had been cancelled due to someone out sick. He was very good and was able to reschedule me for the afternoon at 1 pm and the person was here on time and did a great job, However my cat still refuses to walk on carpeting and flys from one chair to another and has made her resting place at the other end of my dining room table. Sure hope she gets over this before long and is content to walk on the carpeting. Thank you for your service. Betty Clark.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 20)
Hi Betty! Thanks for the great review! We're glad the scheduling ended up working out and we hope your cat becomes comfortable with the carpet again soon!
Ogunquit, ME
Both associates (Al and I can't remember the name of the other gentleman) were very helpful, effective, and knowledgable.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 20)
Hi Tom! Thanks for letting us know you had a good experience with your Service Professionals. we appreciate the great review!
SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
After a postponed appointment, we were happy with Corey and the job he did.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 17)
Hi Jean! Thanks for letting us know that you had a good experience with Corey. We appreciate the great review!
FALMOUTH, ME
thank you!
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 4)
Hi Maria! Thanks for the 5-star review. We appreciate it!
ACTON, ME
Mike was very professional and friendly. The service provided seems to be working. Wondering process for next checkup. Do we schedule or does Modern Pest make arrangements.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Tom! We're glad to hear you had a good experience with Mike. You will automatically be scheduled and notified about your next service. But if you need service in the meantime, just call 1-800-323-7378 to schedule it. Thanks for the great review!
PARSONSFIELD, ME
Thorough and expert job of spraying for ticks and mosquitoes.
Prompt notification of work and its completion. Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Marcia! We're glad you were pleased with Modern. Thanks so much for the great review!
KENNEBUNK, ME
Technician was prompt, very professional, did a thorough job and was very personable answering all my questions.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Debbie! We're glad to hear that your Service Professional did a good job. Thanks so much for the great review!
CAPE ELIZABETH, ME
The technician (Matt, I believe, but I'm bad at remembering names!) was thorough, and kept me tuned to each part of the initial visit. I have high hopes for a declining mouse population! Many thanks!
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 27)
Hi Tana! Yes, Matt was your Service Professional. Thanks for letting us know you had a good experience with him. We appreciate the great review!
SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
Modern Pest Services provides professional services that meet our strict business needs. We comply with Medical and Food & Beverage requirements and industry standards second to none. We get scheduled service with friendly employees willing to meet our every requirement.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 27)
Hi Jim! We're so happy to hear that Modern has been performing up to your standards and that you've been pleased with our service. Thanks so much for the great review!
SANFORD, ME
Yes I am happy with the service I received. It is the first time you came to the house. Kenneth was very polite and professional.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 17)
Hi Carol! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Kenneth. Thanks for the great review!
CHEBEAGUE ISLAND, ME
The original contact and wait on phone line was dreadful! Inexcusable! Then the pest person didn’t show up at our home on the appointed day- through no fault of his, apparently, but because of office messed up. Then, no one called to explain nor apologize. Your office staff need to be better trained, or replaced.
When Dan did arrive four days later, he was wonderful. Very prompt, personable snd knowledgeable. I wish it was he who was running your office.
CHEBEAGUE ISLAND, ME
The service was fine. We had to wait months for it though and I think we should have a credit for the 3+ months when we had no service option.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 16)
Hi Sandra! Thanks for the great service review! If you'd like to discuss billing, you can call us at 1-800-323-7378. Have a nice weekend!
SHAPLEIGH, ME
Service was excellent.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Jul 13)
Hi John! Thanks so much for the 5-star review. Have a great week!
KENNEBUNKPORT, ME
I have been a customer for over a year. I have a pest company where I live in a different state that I have used for over 10 years and to be quite honest, Modern Pest is not as good and costs more. I pay for my own home on a quarterly basis much cheaper then the monthly charge from Modern Pest. Modern Pest has also just recently increased their costs when they have been less available during this pandemic. I don't feel I am getting a reasonable service from Modern Pest for the amount I am being charged. When I signed up for the service the customer service was not friendly. I recently called for an inside service and the customer service person was very nice but never got back to me regarding the service call. While I understand that during this pandemic customer service time is being challenged I am not happy with the cost for the service that I don't feel is meeting a comparable service in a neighboring state where the cost of living is higher. I am limited on company selection in this area but I am looking to end this service with Modern Pest.
NEWRY, ME
Mike was professional and competent. Pleasure to have him help me out with my pest control problems.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Jane! We're glad you had a good experience with Mike. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
FREEPORT, ME
This was our first interaction with Modern Pest Services. I was impressed with the operator who handled my initial call and the technician who provided the service at my home. Both were very friendly and knowledgeable. I felt the technician was very thorough in applying the various allocations inside and outside our home.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Michael! We're happy to hear you had an all-around good experience with Modern. Thanks so much for the great review!
SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
I've been thinking about how to respond to this request for a review, and have slightly changed my mind about how to approach the topic. I was upset that at this time, Modern would not do an interior service. Then I read an article in the Portland Press Herald about the complexities of doing interior service work at this time. I think I now have a better understanding of the reasons for not doing indoor services without extreme safeguards. However...the price increase at this time seems to be taking advantage of the current situation to cover additional costs for Modern Pest while not being able to complete services as contracted. Leaves a bad taste...
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Dana. We understand your frustration with pricing increases. If you'd like to further discuss your concerns and the reasons for the increase with a manager, please call us at 1-800-323-7378. Thanks, and have a great weekend!
Biddeford, ME
The only complaint I have is when I try to call to have some one pick up a trap with dead mouse in it , it’s awful getting through to some one , left messages no return call frustrating, other wise good.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Peter! We're sorry to hear you've had issues getting through to us on the phone. But we're glad you've been otherwise happy and we appreciate the 4-star review!
CAPE ELIZABETH, ME
At this point i am pretty frustrated overall with the service. We have two accounts 95 and 99 zeb cove road. We have rodent issues at both locations and recently had a wildlife intrusion and clean up at 99 zeb cove road. The inspector Shawn who did a great job on the wildlife issues and clean up, made the comment that there were lots of pests that were covered on our regular coverage that did not look like they had been attended to. this is my complaint. We pay an annual service fee and I'm not sure we get anything more than a cursory checking of the bait traps. A weasel got into the house at 99 zeb cove road and the comment was made that there was an open pipe it could have gotten in through. Where was the inspection service for rodents that would have done something about that? i will say that the flea and tick treatments do seem to help so that is a plus.
As far as the website, i went on there to reschedule two appointment and ask two questions and I did not receive a reply of any kind over 48 hours so i ended up calling. not good response if you want people to use it. One of the messages was not to perform service during a specific period of time (left on line and with a customer support person) and I ended up getting a notice of inspection during the days I had said not to come. i had to call again to reschedule.

all of this is needless to say not a good reflection on the quality of the annual service or the reliability of the website. On top of this I just got a price increase. We have been loyal customers for years and it feels like the business is being taken for granted and not being earned. Giving credit where it was due Shawn was responsive and helpful. I still do not have the bill.

Dan Dillon - account bill payer and manager - do not call Alice Dillon about this review.
FALMOUTH, ME
We have always been pleased with Modern Pest and there knowledgeable staff.
When we have any issues they respond quickly and deal with any issues we may have.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Paul! We're happy to hear you've had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
GORHAM, ME
The last application for hornets, wasps and carpenter bees seems not to be working.
Yesterday we seemed to have numerous stinging insects about and the grandchildren we’re concerned.
SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
Didn’t wait at all for an appointment. Very professional and courteous to when I first called to helping get rid of pests!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 22)
Hi Kristyn! We're happy to hear your experience with Modern went well. Thanks for the great review!
ACTON, ME
Thorough, excellent service.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 22)
Hi Rich! We're glad you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
YARMOUTH, ME
Excellent job!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 16)
Hi Delvyn! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy the beautiful weather this week!