Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

Bangor, ME

4.8 · 383 reviews
4.8 · 383 reviews


3 Photos

  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Bangor, ME - Gallery Photo 1
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Bangor, ME - Gallery Photo 2
  • Modern Pest Services - Pest Control in Bangor, ME - Gallery Photo 3

About Modern Pest Services

Location

Bangor, ME

Services

Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control

Products

Sentricon
TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business

72

Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services is a third generation family-owned and operated pest control company. Established in 1945, it has been a leader in the industry from its beginning.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

383 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 89
Knowledgeable · 57
Friendly · 48
Thorough · 35
Excellent · 33
· Show All
4.8 star average rating (383 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
Elliotsville, ME
The product and the technician both very good. Last year, management/front office not so good. Recently, much better.
Ellsworth, ME
The ants are almost completely gone! So relieved! Thank you....

We do have a ground yellow jacket nest I noticed this weekend. Is that something you cover?
Blue Hill, ME
Chance's first question to me is asking if I have noticed any problems which gives me the opportunity to ask or discuss anything i have seen. He is knowledgeable, meticulous and works quickly. He then reviews his observations and treatments with us, staying on subject, and leaves a written report. Perfect.
Bar Harbor, ME
Technician showed up on time, was well prepared and took care of the problem!
Easton, ME
I hired Modern Pest to take care of a carpenter ant problem in my home back in February. I was assured that they could take care of my problem with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. It is now August and I am still seeing ants on a regular basis. I have had Modern Pest in my home well over 10 times and seen no progress. I keep being told to "be patient". The manager of the local branch seems to be ignoring me, as she will not return my phone calls. When I do reach the manager, I'm being told things like "I don't know what to tell you." Very upsetting.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Seth. Thank you, we value and appreciate your feedback. We understand and are very sorry you are not happy with the end results. Our team is dedicated to working with our clients to resolve all of their issues. Through our efforts and subsequent conversations with you, we believe we were offering the best solution at that time.
Prospect Harbor, ME
Overall, great. the only issue was that i will have to wash almost all of my windows because the spray dripped on them. I have a lot of windows and this will take time. Dave did apologize ahead of time but I am not sure what to do next time someone comes out. I have a lot of glass and it is not easy to clean. it takes several hours with extension ladder.
Otherwise I was very happy with the service.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Mike. Thanks for sharing this feedback. We will share this with our team and brainstorm possible solutions to this issue for you. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review!
Brooklin, ME
Didn't find any bugs but was friendly and professor,.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Stephen. That is good news. So glad we can provide you the bug-free peace of mind. Be sure to let us know if anything turns up!
Prospect Harbor, ME
Fast and thorough response. Very friendly service technician.
Sargentville, ME
Chance is a top professional. He really knows everything there is to know about pest control, and he's super polite and efficient.
Eastbrook, ME
Our issues and concerns are always dealt with quickly and successfully. Modern is clearly a customer orirnted company. Recommended without reservation.
Blue Hill, ME
our experience was excellent. The service went smoothly, and the technician (David) was willing to answer questions about the materials used, and the program we have started. Peggy Richardson (Margaret)
Brownville, ME
I had a carpenter ant infestation in my log home where I'm surrounded by the boreal jungle. Modern Pest sent their local specialist, Dave, who thoroughly explained the causes of my problem and the method they use to resolve it. Dave did a thorough inspection and applied both internal and external ant poisons. Within a couple of weeks the ant parade in the house had disappeared and I saw only a few dead ant bodies from time to time. MP's quarterly inspection and service has kept me ant-free since. I do see a few at the time of the annual ant hatching but any I see in the house are dead or on their way to an ant funeral, and the number seen outside reduces to a handful. Dave is friendly, professional, and works as unobtrusively as he can. I enjoy a brief chat with him on his visits.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Robert. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a very detailed review. We are glad to hear you are well taken care of by Dave. Please know we will always be just a phone call away!
Ellsworth, ME
The technician who provided the service was
Outstanding. He was professional, proficient,
and care making his rounds. We had a lot of young people coming to spent a few nights here and he explained his treatment well and assured us of the care he took to help us feel confident and safe.
Beals, ME
We really liked the demeanor and attitude of the tech. He was very professional and was able to answer all of our questions and respond to all of our concerns.
Benedicta, ME
Peter is very accommodating and thorough. He was on time and very efficient.
Bangor, ME
Dave has been the sole Modern Pest Services employee who has kept carpenter ants, mice at bay. I think I started in 2006 after a carpenter ant infestation.
Dave is always on time, explains what he finds and what he is going to do. Very pleasant, informative and careful. I have had no problems with "pests" since starting with MPS. Thank you.
Holden, ME
Technician was very polite and explained the service very well. Spared some honey bees, which I totally agree with!
Bar Harbor, ME
Just fine!! Will use again and again and again and again and again.
Dover Foxcroft, ME
Great, prompt customer service and friendly employees!
van Buren, ME
Jocelyn is very pleasant and professional. She is also very knowledgeable and thorough with her monthly visits.
Winter Harbor, ME
Courteous and efficient technician. No insect issues since we started this service.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Cindy. Thank you for the review. We are glad we can provide you with pest-free peace of mind!
Bangor, ME
this should not be required in order to rate the techician.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Phillip. Please know we truly value and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Sullivan, ME
very competent
being unable to submit eval w/o filling in this means I will not rate in the future.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Thank you, James, for taking the time to leave us a review.
Ellsworth, ME
Jamie was very professional and has a broad knowledge of how insects function. I enjoyed meeting him, he is very smart, comical and polite. I would recommend Modern Pest Control to anyone. My score A+.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 days ago (Aug 14)
Hello, Jeannine. That is wonderful news and we are so glad to hear it. Be sure to let us know if anything comes up in the meantime.
Bucksport, ME
Thank you for the great and knowledgeable service! David was professional, pleasant and was able to explain the applications.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 21)
Hello, Erica and Michelle. We are glad you think so. We will always be just a phone call away! Thank you!
Bangor, ME
They responded to my needs in a timely manner to address issues.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 21)
Hello, Gary. That is wonderful to hear! Please give us a buzz if anything comes up!
East MacHias, ME
Knowledgeable technicians, reliable service.
All of the documentation we required was provided. We have been using Modern for over ten years and have been very satisfied.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 21)
Hello, Cook Aquaculture - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you are pleased with your service. Please let us know if you need anything!
Bucksport, ME
Great! Chance does a great job! He is very polite and professional.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 21)
Hello, Sherri. We are glad you think so. Please let us know if you need anything else!
Caribou, ME
spraying was very helpful,jocelyn needs a raise ,she is very good at her job......
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
I think Jocelyn will be happy to hear that! Thank you, Dolly, for the review. Please let us know if you need anything!
Orrington, ME
Great experience. Very thorough. We appreciate the note left by the technician explaining the process and advice.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, Amanda. Thanks for the review and we are glad to hear that you have been well taken care of. We are always just a phone call away!
Hampden, ME
After our first service technician Bob came to our home and assured me we didn't have any mice inside our house (despite a recent mouse nest found in our external AC unit and a specific urine odor I insisted he inspect under our fridge) I was reassured we had no signs of mice inside. He could also smell an ammonia/urine smell, but didn't look behind the fridge and insisted it was not from an animal. He set two bait traps at my request, despite not recommending them. Four days later I paid $100 for appliance repair where within 5 minutes they found lots of rodent urine and droppings under the fridge and said my fridge is working fine. I called the MP to get service ASAP. After speaking with Paul because Kellie Gaudet was unavailable he assured me this would be remedied. That afternoon Ryan and Kellie stopped by my house during my work day. After reviewing Bob's service or lack thereof, Kellie admitted that I did not get a proper treatment or inspection (no appliances were examined, for example, fridge not properly examine, not all bait traps had been set, etc.). She apologized for the poor service and said she would call me back to see about compensation (at my request). She said that because Bob only set two traps I should not have paid the full $74 for bait traps (I was supposed to receive a credit for traps not set). So not only did I get to pay $100 for appliance service that her staff missed, full $74 for bait traps not fully set at initial service, and the inconvenience of interrupting my work video conference calls for second service and both my husband and I having to lose time during our day to chase down a response from a manager, I see a $50 credit on my credit card. After not hearing back from her for 2 days my husband called with no response. What a mistake we made signing a contract with Modern Pest. I will absolutely never do that again and will be sure to warn others about the poor service and dismal attempt to make things right.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, Terry. Thank you for taking the time to provide us this detailed feedback. We very much appreciate hearing from you. We hope that our subsequent conversations with you left you feeling satisfied with the results. Please feel free to let us know if you need anything else. Thank you!
Veazie, ME
Your provider did an outside check, introduced himself at arrival and asked if I had any concerns. He then continued to inspect the perimeter and left.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Thank you, Gayle, for the review. Please let us know if you need anything else! We are happy to help out!
Bucksport, ME
Ryan was able to answer any questions I had and worked quickly to get the traps in place. He talked to me about the process for monthly service and made sure he had accurate contact numbers before he left. Very impressed with all the contacts I have had with your company thus far!
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
That is wonderful to hear, Lori. We are glad you are pleased with your service so far. Please let us know if anything comes up before our next visit!
Hampden, ME
David is a friendly and helpful service person. He always takes the time to address our concerns and explain services (and bugs).

I wish monthly charges were a bit lower....
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, MJ. Thank you for the review and feedback. The good news is that your plan comes with 100% satisfaction guarantee - which means if anything pops up before our next visit we will come out as many times necessary to resolve the issue at no extra cost. We hope that provides you added value and peace of mind.
Bar Harbor, ME
Ryan of Modern Pest Services is always pleasant, professional, informative, helpful, dedicated, and knowledgable. Even though I've been solicited with lower prices by Modern's competitors, I choose to remain a regular and happy client because of the trust relationship established with Ryan and Modern.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Thank you, Anna, for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that, it really means a lot to us. Be sure to let us know if anything should pop up before our next visit and we will be right out!
Hampden, ME
Bob from South Carolina was wonderful. Please make him my regular technician.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, Joann - that is wonderful to hear and thank you for the review. We will pass this along!
Sinclair, ME
Jocelyn has now treating our fourth property - great work and thanks.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, Richard. We are very lucky and grateful to have fantastic team members like Jocelyn. We are glad to hear she is treating you right. Be sure to let us know if you need anything - thank you!
Trenton, ME
We wouldn't use anyone else. Our techs have always been courteous and knowledgeable, and have no trouble working with our schedules. Kudos to your office staff, too, as they are just as helpful when changing appointments. Keep up the great work!
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 19)
Hello, Emily. We are so very glad to hear that. We are happy to help and please be sure to let us know if anything pops up before our next visit!
Milford, ME
I am a returning customer with the mosquito coverage and stinging insects. This year I am very dissatisfied with the mosquito coverage and have called 2 times regarding it. We recently had a technician at the house who stated our July service had already been done and the next one wasn't until August. I am very dissatisfied this year and would like my money refunded for the service and unsure if I will stay with your company next year. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter and I look forward to speaking with you regarding this situation.

Respectfully
Adam Martell
207-852-2984.
Greenville, ME
I had requested an interior services for ants wasps and flies inside. Exterior was done when exterior was done last visit too.
I've never met Ryan.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Jul 13)
Hello, Julie Ann. Thank you for the feedback and making us aware of this concern. We are happy to come back out at no extra charge to perform an interior service. Please be in touch so we can schedule this for you. Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience!