Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

New Haven, CT

4.4 · 511 reviews
4.4 · 511 reviews

About Modern Pest Services

Location

New Haven, CT

Services

Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control

Products

Sentricon
TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business

76

Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services is a third generation family-owned and operated pest control company. Established in 1945, it has been a leader in the industry from its beginning.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

511 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 72
Thorough · 68
Excellent · 57
Knowledgeable · 55
Friendly · 47
· Show All
4.4 star average rating (511 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
Waterbury, CT
I really wish pest rx never sold off to modern. Service has definitely gone down hill . And everytime there increasing my bill or adding additional charges/fees . Going to look for another pest company. Especially because my last two service apt . One shows up an hour late ,no call or nothing then I receive an email with an additional charge ,last person shut down my furnace .where if I didn't notice it . I would if probably ended up with a bursted pipe since the temperature dropped down into the 20s that night . or better yet I could have paid a furnace person to come out to figure out why my furnace wasn't working and been charged fees because I'm pretty sure they wanted to reimburse me back my money. Why would you touch a switch that clearly states oil burner written across it. Never the same person that comes at least when it was pest rx I normally had the same person. I wouldn't recommend modern .
Pleasant Valley, CT
I am always pleased with how professional and courteous the technicians are. Thank you for all your company does for us.
Business Owner's Reply · 15 days ago (Jan 4)
Hello! Thanks so much for the great review! We're glad you've had a good experience with your Service Professionals. Happy New Year!
New Haven, CT
Excellent job.
Business Owner's Reply · 15 days ago (Jan 4)
Thanks for the great review, Larry! Happy New Year!
Glastonbury, CT
I was so impressed with the service that we received from Modern Pest. The customer service was impeccable and the technician Joe was efficient, friendly and informative.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Dec 18)
Hi Gina! Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Joe and with Modern in general. Have a happy holiday season!
South Glastonbury, CT
Efficient, respectful, safe. Great job.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Dec 18)
Hi Dana! We're so happy you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and happy holidays!
Oxford, CT
Not happy , never get a call back . Lackadasikle service. Questions of what are they actually doing outside my home?? Supervisors are not interested in customer service. I may cancel . Not happy.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Dec 14)
Hi Mary! I checked into your account and I see that Gary Oakes talked with you and resolved your issues. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do. Thanks!
Meriden, CT
They always come out when we notice new activity!!!
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Dec 14)
Hi Erik! We're glad to hear that we've been able to address your issues in a timely manner. Thanks for the great review!
Danbury, CT
Very good service.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Dec 14)
Hi Yosuke! Thanks for the 5-star review. We appreciate it!
Fairfield, CT
Excellent service and very professional.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Dec 3)
Hi Kathleen! We're glad to hear your experience with Modern has been a good one. Thanks for the great review!
Cheshire, CT
The associate was here when expected. He reached out to ask if I had any other inside problems or concerns. He was very polite and thorough.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 24)
Hi Sandra! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
Coventry, CT
Much better job than in the past providing proactive communication on when a technician would arrive. The technician did a great job, very professional.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 24)
Hi Dale! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with communication and with your Service Pro. Thanks for the great review!
Cheshire, CT
I was shocked to see you service person here on Saturday
They do a good job
But a schedule would be helpful he got her called me I was not home left a messsge he would be doing outside my wife was sleeping I want home and he rang the bell anyway
It’s a good protocol to ring the bell but he said he was doing it differently

Planning the day is important.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 24)
Hi Ron! Thanks for the great review! We're sorry to hear there were some issues with communication. If you'd like to sign up for text message notifications click here, https://www.modernpest.com/text-notifications-signup/
Glastonbury, CT
Technician Joe explained services to be done. He was very knowledgeable and courteous. We were very satisfied with the service we received.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 24)
Hi Sudhir! We're glad to hear you had a good experience with Joe. Thanks so much for great review. We appreciate it!
Bridgeport, CT
I opened an official service account yesterday. The service technician was very polite and explained what he was going do. Also Zach, the person I set up the service with, is such a gem. The entire staff that I had contact with have very good customer service skills. I didn’t feel intimidated or pressured. I felt comfortable in going with Modern Pest Control. Thank you and I will tell my friends about you.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 19)
Hi Glenda! Thanks so much for the amazing review! We agree that Zach is a great asset for Modern! We truly appreciate your willingness to recommend Modern to your friends. Have a great weekend!
Wallingford, CT
Your technicians are always friendly, courteous, on time. They are mindful of Covid and cleanliness, and they do a great job of explaining what is happening with pests and what they are doing. Excellent workers!!!!
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 19)
Hi David! Thanks so much for the great feedback and amazing review! We appreciate it!
Farmington, CT
Very pleased with the gentleman that came to my house. He was very thorough and checked all the traps to make sure that they were full of bait.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 19)
Hi Lorna! Thanks for letting us know your Service Professional did a thorough job. We appreciate the great review!
Trumbull, CT
Very personable and professional. Arrived right on time.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 19)
Hi Eileen! We're glad you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
Milford, CT
Very professional did a great job.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 13)
Hi Steven! We're glad you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
Wolcott, CT
Good service.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 13)
Hi Dulce! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Wolcott, CT
They do a thorough job.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 13)
Hi Paul and Tammy! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Danbury, CT
Very helpful.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 5)
Thanks so much for the great review, Mary! We appreciate it!
Meriden, CT
Excellent service. Joesph Perone did a great job. Very knowledgeable, polite and a great asset to your company.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Nov 5)
Hi Jean! Thank you for letting us know that Joseph did a good job. We appreciate the feedback and the great review!
Wilton, CT
I would like a copy of my contract & what is included in it by mail.
New Fairfield, CT
Modern Pest was great with communication, appointment time, promptness, service, professionalism and pricing! Great company and highly recommend!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 29)
Hi Cathleen! Thanks for letting us know that your experience with Modern was good all along the way. We appreciate the great review!
Bethel, CT
Our service man Is great! He always keeps me updated on the activity in my yard.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 23)
Hi George! We're happy to hear you've had a good experience with your Service Pro. Thanks for the great review!
Branford, CT
We have a quarterly plan but I am unsure of the scheduling plan. Months and appointments tend to vary. I would prefer s set schedule, eg specific time period in Jan, Apr, July, Oct.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 23)
Hi William! You can see upcoming and previous appointment details in our Pest Portal. If you have any other questions, call us at 1-800-323-7378. Have a great weekend and thanks for the feedback!

https://modernpest.pestconnect.com/login
North Haven, CT
The hornets are dead but huge mess of the entire nest was left behind. I contacted them to ask about clean up and was ignored, and then finally told “other animals will eventually come clean it up”.
Branford, CT
Excellent.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 14)
Thanks for the great review, Jerry!
Madison, CT
Great service. On time and worked quickly.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 14)
Hi Gavitt! Thanks for letting us know that you had a good experience with Modern. We appreciate the great review!
East Hartland, CT
I was disappointed that the technician was unable to do the whole house--he did only the basement, a crawl space and the garage. For the amount of money I paid it was disappointing--in the past I have had rodents in the attic and occasionally the first floor of the house. He did do the outside stations and sprayed for insects
which I had not signed up for.
Ridgefield, CT
ALL GOOD.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Oct 14)
Thanks for the great review, Charlotte! We appreciate it!
Woodbridge, CT
Very good service.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Barbara! We're glad you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
Branford, CT
The young man who came to do the service was so very nice & accommodating!! Very sweet. I'm sorry I forgot his name!! But just a great person!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Susan! Your Service Professional was Jeremy Morrissette. Thanks for letting us know he did a good job. We appreciate the great review!
Bridgeport, CT
Good service.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Thanks for the 5-star review, Alejandro! We appreciate it!
North Haven, CT
James was friendly yet professional. He was able to answer my questions and he explained thoroughly.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Joann! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with James. Thanks for the great review!
Oxford, CT
Very dependable and arrived as expected. I didn’t see our guy spray this time, but the man who sprayed the last two times was very through.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Mary! We're happy to hear you've been pleased with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
Waterbury, CT
Pool service for the last three month.in side the counter we have a lot cucaraches I buying my own stuff to kill. Because you new employees the on they come from the from. Door walk directly to the back. Look the cell phone for three ninute. Go back to they truck. Then back to the store again walk thru the back door for about two nimute with out doin nothing.
Milford, CT
The services provided by Modern Pest Services have been excellent. The spray that you used for the ticks, mosquitos and fleas worked wonders on our property. After your first application, we had no ticks at all. We had experienced several ticks before that application. Since then, we have seen very few insects on our property at all. Your service with the rodents has also been very good. Your company is strongly recommended.

Joseph C Wolf.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Joseph! Thanks so much for the amazing review! We're glad to hear that we could help keep your yard tick-free. We truly appreciate you recommending us!
Chester, CT
Great job however it was only by coincidence that we were home, we were waiting for a call back to tell us when you were coming out but got no response. Next time please inform us when you’ll be there so we can make sure we’re home. Thanks.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 29)
Hi Ron! We're sorry to hear there were communication issues. Please call us at 1-800-323-7378 for a more specific appointment time. Thanks for the 4-star review!
Kent, CT
Excellent service attitude. Pleased with everything.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Sep 18)
Hi Ken! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!