Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Modern Pest Services

Pest Control

New Haven, CT

4.4 · 476 reviews
4.4 · 476 reviews

About Modern Pest Services


New Haven, CT


Pest Control
Additional Services: Ant Control · Attic Cleaning & Restoration · Bed Bug Control · Bird Control · Carpenter Ant Control · Commercial Pest Control · Ice Dam Removal · Mosquito Control · Rodent Control · Tap Insulation · Termite Control · Tick Control · Wildlife Control


TAP Insulation

Business Hours

Contact Center: Mon-Fri: 7am- 7pm; Sat 9am - 2pm; Sun: Closed

Payment Options

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check

Years in Business


Business Qualifications

QualityPro with National Pest Management Association
Entomological Society of America
National Environmental Health Association
National Pest Management Association
New England Pest Management Association
The Professional Pest Management Alliance

About This Business

Modern Pest Services is a third generation family-owned and operated pest control company. Established in 1945, it has been a leader in the industry from its beginning.

Modern employs integrated pest management (IPM) practices in all operating activities and offers commercial and residential pest control services. This includes traditional and thermal bed bug treatments, various wildlife services and year-round protection for your home and business from as many as 60 pests.

476 Reviews for
Modern Pest Services

What people say about Modern Pest Services
Professional · 65
Thorough · 64
Knowledgeable · 53
Excellent · 52
Friendly · 44
· Show All
4.4 star average rating (476 reviews)

Reviews you can trust. All reviews from real customers.
Businesses cannot pay to alter or remove their reviews on ContactUs.
Oxford, CT
Very dependable and arrived as expected. I didn’t see our guy spray this time, but the man who sprayed the last two times was very through.
Waterbury, CT
Pool service for the last three side the counter we have a lot cucaraches I buying my own stuff to kill. Because you new employees the on they come from the from. Door walk directly to the back. Look the cell phone for three ninute. Go back to they truck. Then back to the store again walk thru the back door for about two nimute with out doin nothing.
Milford, CT
The services provided by Modern Pest Services have been excellent. The spray that you used for the ticks, mosquitos and fleas worked wonders on our property. After your first application, we had no ticks at all. We had experienced several ticks before that application. Since then, we have seen very few insects on our property at all. Your service with the rodents has also been very good. Your company is strongly recommended.

Joseph C Wolf.
Chester, CT
Great job however it was only by coincidence that we were home, we were waiting for a call back to tell us when you were coming out but got no response. Next time please inform us when you’ll be there so we can make sure we’re home. Thanks.
Kent, CT
Excellent service attitude. Pleased with everything.
Business Owner's Reply · 6 days ago (Sep 18)
Hi Ken! We're happy to hear you had a good experience with Modern. Thanks for the great review!
Danbury, CT
Not happy...... he was supposed to spray for ants and wasps he gave me a run around, he said he sprayed for the wasps but didn’t!!!!!!We have tons of bees and wasps he did nothing!!! I would never recommend this company!!!
Watertown, CT
Please send hard copy to my house 156 Bella Vista Dr. Watertown ,
ct 06795.
Torrington, CT
Jim was pleasant and knowledgeable.
Business Owner's Reply · 8 days ago (Sep 15)
Hi Cara! We're happy to hear your had a good experience with Jim. Thanks for the great review!
Naugatuck, CT
no I expected someone who would explain more ... and not discourage us in saying certain things ... I guess he wanted to do his job with out interruption .first Visit I though would be more consoling.
Wallingford, CT
Not worth committing.
Willimantic, CT
It was a pleasure to meet your agent. He clearly explained what he was going to do and when he was done he told me if we still have a problem give him a call. We have a very small group of small bees, and a couple of the larger bees. Other wise it was a pleasure to meat your agent. Thank you, David Adam.
Business Owner's Reply · 23 days ago (Aug 31)
Hi David! Thanks for letting us know that you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Definitely let us know if you still have issues with stinging insects. Thanks for the great review!
Hamden, CT
Good Morning!
Yes, I am pleased with yesterday's first pest control service. Representative J was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Thank you for easing my fear of creatures in my house! I look forward to the follow up in two weeks. Thank you! CM, CT.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 28)
Hi Carol! We're happy that your initial service went well and that you were pleased with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
Colchester, CT
professional and efficient as usual.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 28)
Hi Avis! We're glad to here you've been pleased with Modern. Thanks for the great review, and enjoy your weekend!
New Milford, CT
Our business has been a customer since they assumed Mastershield. It is impossible to get them to adhere to a set schedule especially since our office has limited hours. We have had four different service people and none of them has provided the same level of service. The quality of technician diminishes with each new tech. This last one only checked the basement on his visit. When it was pointed out to him that there was an upstairs he said mice travel down not up. Also we were told that he could check his computer and see exactly where there had been activity in the past.
Sherman, CT
Not so impressed. The guy came, reported that he cleared a single spider from the siding of our house (!), but no mention of the two wasp nests that I was hoping Modern Pest would deal with. It's okay, I can do it myself. The spider I would have left alone, after all, outside it's their world.
Wolcott, CT
As always he was polite.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 20)
Hi William! We're glad to hear you had a good experience with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
Bethel, CT
A good job as usual. Quick and effective.
Business Owner's Reply · A month ago (Aug 20)
Hi David! Thanks so much for the 5-star review. We hope you have a great weekend!
Cromwell, CT
Joe was very good and explained everything he was doing. The results were immediate and I have not seen any activity at all. Thank you for taking care of me.
Business Owner's Reply · 2 months ago (Aug 3)
Hi Lorraine! We're happy to hear that Joe did a good job and that you're already seeing the effects. Thanks for the great review!
Poor communication between the office and the technician.
Was notified that I had an appt scheduled but no time was given. Called and left message to change the appt since I had just had surgery. The guy showed up anyway at 8:30 am. The only notice I had was at 8:25 that he was on his way.
This score is based on the last visit. Tech did not fill boxes with bait in front and in back of house. Very disappointed.
Your service was handled well . I need you to come back again to treat for carpenter bees and cannot get a response. I’ve been on hold four different times. Customer service is poor!!!
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hello! We're sorry to hear there was an issue with communication. Hopefully your second treatment has been effective. Thanks!
Cromwell, CT
WE will wait for the results of the application but Daniel was very professional and courteous and completed his job diligently.Thanks.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hello Girish! We're glad you had a good experience with Daniel. Thanks for the great review!
Excellent Serice.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jul 9)
Hi Edward! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Thank you for thorough, prompt service with friendly, professional staff. I am an annual customer.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 16)
Hi Edward! Thanks for being a part of Modern. We're so glad that you've had good experiences with us, and we appreciate the amazing feedback. Have a great week!
Excellent service. Hector was on-time, responsive and thorough. You're the best.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 16)
Hi Christine! We're glad that Hector did a good job. Thanks so much for the amazing review! Enjoy your week!
South Glastonbury, CT
Timely and professional.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 16)
Hi John! Thanks so much for the great review. We appreciate it!
Very efficient and through.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 11)
Hi Candy! Thanks for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
Job not completed
Still waiting for the company to resolve the problem and complete the job.
Service was very good.
Business Owner's Reply · 3 months ago (Jun 11)
Hi John! Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy your weekend!
I have used a few different companies over the years for tick & mosquito control. So far I have not been impressed. The first treatment is always the best and then the next times they spend about 3 minutes and leave. This past time, I watched the tech literally spend time in the front of the house (which we don’t use) and skip the most important pool area, shrubbery around the pool area, and patio area. By the next day, we were whacking mosquitoes while enjoying the pool.
The inspection was very thorough and professional. The technician appeared very knowledgeable.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 9)
Hi Christian! Thanks so much for the great review. We truly appreciate it!
Always great service! Thanks, Modern!
Great job.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 1)
Thanks for the great review, Gail!
Southbury, CT
We've been customers for many years and were happy with the service up until recently. When Modern Pest bought out our original pest service, they kept the charges the same and at the same time, reduced us from 4/yr to 3/yr. Our most recent service on May 2nd, 2020, the service person only inspected the 3 rodent stations immediately outside of our house that are placed against our foundation. We only have service for those 3 stations + interior rodent stations (NO other services as part of our tri-annual contract w/ them). The service person did not enter our home to inspect the interior station (understandable due to covid19). That isn't the issue we have with them. The problem is that they still charged us the full fee for the service call, despite only performing 1/3rd of the service we normally receive and when I contacted them they refused to issue us any form of refund. I consider that taking advantage of your customer and very poor customer service. They got their full fee and kept it, but due to their refusal to issue any refund + reduce their fee for future services under current covid19 conditions, they ended up losing far more money because we immediately stopped doing business with them as a result. That's pretty bad when a business screws over a long-time customer, just to capitalize on a situation. Note, the longer we've used this service, the fewer the services provided, but prices continuing to rise. Someone else will get the benefit of our business moving forward.
Quick and efficient. Thank you.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (Jun 1)
Hi Kristine! Thanks for the great review. We appreciate it!
On our first day of service (on or about May 6), the Tech did not have two of the exterior bait boxes that we had paid extra for. He set the bait boxes that he brought, however he did not plug with mesh any of the small holes or points of mice entry (which the salesperson had told us would be done on the first visit. He also didn't identify any larger points of entry which the salesperson said he would do. Regarding treatment for bees, he did not even make an attempt to treat all four sides of the house or address the areas with the most activity and damage. He informed us that treating our home for bees and mice (the two services for which we contracted with Modern!) were not his specialty. He said he was a 'wild life specislist'. The salesperson we spoke with at the time of contract told us that on the first visit, the technician would survey the house, plug with mesh any small openings that allow mice entry and advise us on how we would have to address larger openings. He never identified or plugged any small or large openings, or gave input on either. Bee activity was not diminished at all following his visit. When we called on 5/19 about our second appt which was scheduled for that same day, an automated service answered my call giving me an option for call back and telling me that I would not lose my place in line, and that I would receive a return call within 3 minutes. The return call never came. When the Technician came a couple hours later, he did have the extra bait boxes that we paid for. He set them, and rearranged the existing boxes to give us optimal protection according to activity he saw. He was much more thorough and proactive with regard to bee treatment than the first technician. He was extremely professional and responsive to our questions and concerns. He addressed and pointed out areas where bees were newly active and beginning to damage new areas of the house. We want you to know how pleased we were with this second technician (his name is Ellery), and sincerely hope and request that you will schedule him for all of our follow-up visits.
I was pleased with the service & the service man was polite & thorough.
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Nancy! We're glad you had a good experience with Modern and with your Service Professional. Thanks for the great review!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Pat! I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with the appointment time. Thanks for the great review though, and enjoy your weekend!
On May 15th your technician Billy Ray Goodson performed the HomeCare quarterly service. He deserves the employee of the year award. His professionalism, knowledge and friendliness is what all businesses look for in an employee. He performed his job efficiently. When he had finished it was as if an old friend stopped by to lend you a hand. Thank you for a great job!
Business Owner's Reply · 4 months ago (May 21)
Hi Lynn! Wow, what an amazing review for Billy Ray! We truly appreciate the great feedback about the job he did and the great review!